Meet Stefanie! | Columbus Moms Network

How many kids do you have and what are their ages?

I have three kids. Camilo is 8, Liliana is 6, and Mateo is about to be 4!

How long have you lived in Columbus?

My family moved to Columbus (Dublin) in December of 2018. We lived in Indianapolis before coming here.

What are your favorite things to do as a family in your free time?

We love long bike rides to get ice cream or a fun lunch. Our kids play many sports so watching them on the Soccer fields or tumbling at gymnastics are also fun pass times! My daughter and I also love to bake and cook together, and are always coming up with yummy treats to make.

Tell us about your business, Three + Me Creations, and how you got started.

After moving to Columbus, I was in deep need of a hobby. After growing up watching my grandmother sew, I decided to get my own sewing machine. I started making my own kid’s small items like hats and bandana bibs. Friends started to tell me that I should sell those items, because they were so cute, and here we are.

What are some of your most popular items that you make and where can people find them?

Some of my most popular items are my reusable bags like the Snap Sack and Zip Sack also the Bunny Ear Scrunchie as I put out new designs at every season and holiday.

Where does the idea or inspiration come from when you are designing new items?

My kids! I am always looking for functional items that make our own life easier and they are always coming to me with fun ideas that I could turn into items. Like the Tooth Fairy Pillow. My oldest was really concerned about a “fairy” coming into his room while he slept so we did some brainstorming, and the Tooth Fairy Pillow was born. He picked out some cool fabric and I got to work.

What do you love about your business?

I love that I can be creative and design items that are useful and beautiful. I also love that I can be home for my family and still embrace my own dreams.

What does a typical day look like for you?

  • 7:30am- Wake Up
  • 7:45am- Make Breakfast and Pack Lunches
  • 8:45am- Get the older two kids on the bus
  • 9:00-11:30am- Hang out with my little guy. Play, go to a park, grocery shopping.
  • 11:45am- Prepare Lunch
  • 12:45am- Get my youngest to School
  • 1:15-3:45pm- Work! Answer emails, complete orders and sew up inventory.
  • 4:00pm- All kids come home from school and have snacks.
  • 4:30pm-we usually have a practice to attend (Soccer or Gymnastics)
  • 6:30pm-7:30pm- prepare dinner
  • 7:30pm- Eat Dinner

How do you juggle work and being a mom?

Being a mom comes first always. Getting the kids to their events and making sure their needs are met is always top priority, however my husband is very supportive! When there are times that I need to get an order sent out or a specific task completed he is always happy to jump in and jumble our schedules to get things done.

What advice would you give a mom who is thinking of starting her own business?

Establish your support system and map out your priorities before diving in! Whether it is family, or a best friend make sure you know how you will navigate when things get a little crazy. There is nothing nine to five about owning a business and as much as I love to have a schedule sometimes it gets tossed out because of a sick kid or random event and that is OK! Breathe, trust the process, the small business community is an amazing one and we are always here to cheer each other on!

Join The Columbus Moms Network Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around The Columbus Moms Network community with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.